His very best work

rashid5.jpgWhen he told me he was going to move the farm, I thought, of course he is. Rashid Nuri has already moved mountains. And sure enough, more than 100 fruit trees and truckloads of soil have already made the trip cross-town to their new home. “Do you find you try not to plant your heart?” I asked, knowing he has moved a lot in his life. He replied, “I’m a traveler. I always leave a project knowing I did my very best work. And then I move on and do my very best work again.” But his grandkids planted that plum tree, he told me, pausing a moment before returning to his smile. Before moving on.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

