My kind of journey

theguysI’m sawing a massive number of tree branches into three-foot-chunks to put by the curb for the county to turn into mulch when I see the two guys on the left traipsing around my suburban neighborhood with packs on their backs. Did someone open an AirBnB in my “hood? I wonder. We get to talking. Turns out Kent (far left) is the nephew of my Appalachian-Trail-hiking neighbor Alan (pictured, far right), and Ben (in the middle) is a documentary filmmaker from Toronto.  Alan is dropping Kent and Ben on the state line between Georgia and Florida tomorrow and the two young men are spending the next few months walking the entire width and length of Florida, meeting people and filming their stories along the way. That’s my kind of journey. Good luck, guys.

 

