Bike ride-ability audits

32042127740_5a771415f8_o.jpgAm aiming to do 20 metro-ATL city bike ride-ability audits in 2017, with new and returning women-on-bikes in mind (women are the indicator species of safe access-for-all, plus they control 80% of all consumer purchasing decisions and can have huge economic impact when they vote with their pedals for your city’s businesses). I already hit the cities of Norcross, Suwanee, Roswell, Decatur, Atlanta, and Dunwoody. The list of what I try to hit is below (please feel free to use in your cities around the USA as well). I’m finding this very interesting, and I’m using this info to inform and improve my teaching as a League Cycling Instructor and as a professional content creator. I’m also showcasing bike infrastructure I find along the way in my new Bike Ride in a Blink super-short video series.

Throughout, I consider bike infrastructure, bike rack availability/location (secure? convenient?), access (including through parking lots), safe routes between destinations, speed limits (and if they are observed and enforced), intersection usability, driver culture and habits, geography and other physical features, way finding signage, and more.

Baker’s Dozen Bike Ride-ability Audit

1. City hall/police headquarters
2. Schools (from preschools through college)
3. Community garden(s)/farmers market
4. Post office
5. Parks
6. Places of worship
7. Corporations
8. Retail/restaurants/professional services
9. Arts/culture organizations
10. Supermarkets
11. Residential neighborhoods
12. Historic locations
13. Any city-specific assets or services (such as bikeshare)

