A chip off the ole’ block

fullsizeoutput_9a4.jpegSo I come upon this Frito Lay truck parked in the bike lane on Edgewood Avenue in Downtown Atlanta. As I’m swerving around it on my bike in vehicular traffic, I get to thinking, “Hmm, I wonder if this company has a sustainability commitment, because it sure doesn’t look like it does when I see things like this.”

Sure enough, there are pages about its goals and commitments to a better world on its website. In particular, I enjoyed this quote by Steve Hanson, Fleet Sustainability Engineer: “Driver training can have up to a 30% impact on miles per gallon.” The copy goes on to say: So we’re not only changing the vehicles we drive, we’re changing the way we drive – planning routes to minimize idling, for instance. I have a question for Steve* — do those improved routes include blocking bike lanes?

I also found a media release about its safe drivers who achieve a million miles without an accident. This is attributed to “high-level safety skills honed through extensive training and adherence to good driving behaviors. Frito-Lay utilizes skills maneuvering courses, advanced driving simulators and team collaborations on best practices to create a positive safety culture and to help its drivers maintain their skills.”

I guess this driver isn’t a chip off the ole’ block, huh?

 

*although I think he now works at the PepsiCo mothership

 

 

